Tango Jam, vol.1

Quintets by Astor Piazzolla
James Crabb – Accordion, Richard Tognetti - Violin
Ben Martin - Piano, Max Bibeau - Bass
and George Vassilev - Guitar
Producer: Daniel Denholm/ Ref. MHR1/ 2005
Mulberry Hill Recordings Ltd, Australia

1. Libertango
2. Milonga del Angel
3. Concierto para quiteto
4. Revirado
5. La Camorra II
6. Mumiki
7. Fugata
8. Romance del Diablo
9. Escualo

"A disc that is on regular spin chez Kramer is Tango Jam [Mulberry Hill Recordings MHR-C001]. As said in a previous review: "One of my all-time favorite CDs, and one that I would take to that imaginary island of the lonely audiophiles, is our own ACO's (Australian Chamber Orchestra, arguably the best chamber ensemble in the world) interpretation of some of Astor Piazzolla's most intoxicating tango masterpieces - Tango Jam. This writer was lucky enough to be in a prime listening position at the Sydney Opera House when this extraordinary music was performed by maestro Richard Tognetti and his group of outstanding musicians [James Crabb (classical accordion), Benjamin Martin (piano), Maxime Bibeau (double bass) and George Vassilev (guitar)]."

Edgar Kramer, Sixmoons Audio Reviews